Modern Cyrillic International Type Design Competition

Deadline: 24 October 2014
Open to: anyone interested in typography no matter their proficiency in languages using the Cyrillic alphabet
Award: honorary diplomas “For Excellence in Type Design” and complimentary copies of the catalogue


ParaType and Type Journal are inviting Cyrillic typeface designers around the world to participate in the Modern Cyrillic 2014 International Type Design Competition. Cyrillic fonts, created and/or released after 15 September 2009 may be submitted to the competition, with both released and unreleased designs being eligible.

The competition jury consists of famous designers from Russia, Germany, Ukraine and Canada. The first Modern Cyrillic type design competition was organized by Vladimir Yefimov and Emil Yakupov in 1999. The second competition, held in 2009 brought in 234 entries from 13 countries. Modern Cyrillic 2014 is the third competition in the series.


Modern Cyrillic is open to all. Participants are not subject to any restrictions based on age, education, occupation or proficiency in languages using the Cyrillic alphabet. There is no limit to the number of entries. Both individuals and businesses may participate.


The winning entries will receive honorary diplomas “For Excellence in Type Design”. Competition organisers reserve the right to award their own prizes, citations and diplomas to some of the entries recognised by the jury. Winners of the competition will receive complimentary copies of the catalogue.


The deadline for submissions is 24 October 2014.

All entries must be submitted using the electronic entry form. The font complement of an entry submitted to the competition may include uppercase and/or lowercase letters, small caps, punctuation marks, numerals and other characters included in standard Cyrillic codepages (Macintosh Cyrillic or Windows CP 1251). Custom typefaces, as well as decorative, initial and display designs, etc., may have a reduced or extended font complement.

For further information, please visit the official website.

Leave a Reply