Russell E. Train Fellowship: Food is Local

Deadline: 1 February 2023
Open to: nationals of eligible countries within the WWF-US priority areas who already enrolled/are interested in enrolling in a master’s or PhD program
Benefits: up to two years of funding and up to $30,000 per year


Russell E. Train Fellowships support individuals pursuing a master’s or doctoral degree in conservation and related fields. Each year, WWF supports committed conservation leaders and scientists from target countries to receive financial support for their studies and research.

EFN invites applications from the current and next generation of researchers and practitioners to pursue graduate-level studies (master’s and PhDs) geared towards research that cultivates a better understanding of the place-based nature of food system transformation. There is substantial evidence at the global scale of the urgent need for food system transformation, but less attention has been paid to how transformations toward more healthy and sustainable food systems might play out at the national level. This includes an understanding of the social, political, cultural, economic, and environmental dimensions of such a transformation in different countries and contexts.

The aim of the fellowship is to support individuals to develop evidence-based, innovative, and interdisciplinary research on food system transformation at the national level to build a better understanding of the country specific actions that need to be taken to transform food systems to improve human health and foster environmental sustainability. This research will catalyze the process of generating an improved understanding of the country-specific nature of food system transformation with a focus on the strategies that will support national and global efforts to create a more sustainable food future.


The fellowship is open to nationals of eligible countries within the WWF-US priority areas: Belize, Brazil, Bhutan, Bolivia, Cambodia, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chile, Colombia, Dem. Republic of Congo, Ecuador, French Guiana, Gabon, Guyana, Honduras, Indonesia, Kenya, Laos, Madagascar, Malaysia, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nepal, Paraguay; Peru, Republic of Congo, Suriname, Tanzania, Uganda, Vietnam who already enrolled/are interested in enrolling in a master’s or PhD program.


Applicants may apply for up to two years of funding and request up to $30,000 per year. The amount will vary.


For more information, visit the official website.