European Press Prize 2021

Deadline: 11 December  2020
Open to: journalists from all 47 countries of Europe as defined by the Council of Europe
Benefits: four awards worth 10,000 euros each and a Special Award granted by the jury


Good journalism is one of the hallmarks of civilized society. Independent and critical journalists are the guardians of democracy. With yearly awards, the European Press Prize aims to be the brand for quality journalism in Europe. By rewarding, facilitating and educating journalists, the European Press Prize highlights the importance of quality media and supports journalists in their endeavour to contribute to independent and critical journalism. The key missions are aligning journalists and creating a community that recognizes and strives for quality – one that helps each other fight foes too big for one person or organization, as well as playing a defining role in emphasizing the vital importance of fine reporting, shrewd analysis and outspoken comment.


Who can enter?

Journalists from all 47 countries of Europe as defined by the Council of Europe are eligible to enter their work. Journalists working in Europe and journalists writing for a European media organisation or blog can submit their work. The work submitted must have a publication date between December 1, 2019 and December 31, 2020.

Number of articles

We ask you kindly to not submit articles that are longer than 5,000 words. Articles beyond that limit put a heavy strain on our translation resources and judging committees. Please submit only one article per person for the categories: Investigative Reporting, Distinguished Reporting and Innovation Award. For the Opinion Award you can enter three pieces per person. If your work is part of a series, you are welcome to mention this in the entry form.

Different types of journalism

Text should be the predominant part of your entry. Our current judging procedure is set up to judge written journalism (with supporting material). Unfortunately, this means that at this time we are not equipped to judge podcasts, documentaries, movies, TV broadcasts, and other types of journalism that do not have a core of written journalism.

Language of the article

Please submit your article in the language of the original publication. Articles selected for the longlist will be translated into English. If you have an English translation or wish to arrange your own translation, feel free to do so. Please submit this translation with your application. If you do not have an English translation, you can enter your work in the original language of the publication.


There are four awards – worth 10,000 euros each. Besides, there is a Special Award the jury can decide to award.

1. The Investigative Reporting Award – For the individual or team effort which has done most to unearth facts that the public – and society – has a right to know;

2. The Distinguished Reporting Award – For the best reportage and feature writing illuminating vital issues at home and abroad;

3. The Opinion Award – For the commentator, columnist or editor whose work has made a decisive impact;

4. The Innovation Award – For the idea – presentational, technical or in terms of editorial techniques – that has made a clear contribution to journalism’s future;

The Special Award – From 2013 on, the judges will be empowered to award a special prize for particular excellence in editing or any other discipline, including reporting, feature write and advocacy.


For more details, please visit the official website or send an email to