160 PhD Grants at the European University Institute

Deadline: 31 January 2015
Open to: candidates from EU and non-EU countries
Scholarship: varies by country, minimum EUR 1100/month


An international institution with a European focus, the European University Institute in Italy is one of the most culturally diverse doctoral schools anywhere in the world.  With leading scholars in their fields, the four departments promote interdisciplinary research and teaching:

  1. PhD in Economics
  2. PhD in History and Civilization
  3. PhD in Law
  4. PhD in Political and Social Sciences

Ph.D. grants are available for nationals of most EU member states. These are EU member states that have signed the EUI Convention.  A limited number of additional grants are available for non EU member states.


To qualify for a national grant, you must meet the specific requirements set by the national grant authorities. These may include conditions with regard to your nationality, residence, degree and its time of award.


Grants and tuition fees for Ph.D. candidates are covered by the national grant-awarding authority for Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Luxembourg, The Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom, Norway, Switzerland.

The Italian Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation awards grants to candidates from the following states: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova,Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, Uzbekistan and Turkey. Algeria, Egypt, Morocco and Tunisia. Candidates from these countries do not pay the programme’s tuition fees.

Candidates from other countries may be admitted under the EUI special doctoral fellowships programme.

Exact amounts of the grant find HERE.


The deadline for applications for the 2015-2016 academic year is 31 January 2015, 24:00 CET.

The application for admission to the EUI doctoral programme is automatically an application for a national grant, with the following exceptions: SloveniaSpain,  Portugal and the United Kingdom. If you apply for a grant from one of these countries, your application to the EUI can ONLY be accepted if you separately apply also for the national grant by the deadline specified by the relevant grant authority.

Frequently Asked Questions

For further information visit the official website HERE.

Leave a Reply