UNESCO World Press Freedom Prize 2010

UNESCO invites Member States, regional and international organizations, professional and non-governmental organizations working in the field of journalism and freedom of expression to nominate candidates for the UNESCO/Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize 2010.

Deadline: 15/ 02/2010

The purpose of the Prize is to honour a person, organization or institution that has made a notable contribution to the defence and/or promotion of press freedom anywhere in the world, especially if this involved risk. The prize is intended to reward journalists who have shown dedication in the name of freedom of expression and information and to afford them the international recognition they deserve. Awarded annually, the Prize is marked by a ceremony and the winner is presented with the sum of US$25,000.

The prize, named in honor of Guillermo Cano Isaza, a Columbian journalist who was killed while reporting in 1986, will be presented on May 3 in Australia, during the World Press Freedom Day conference.

How to submit your nomination
Nominations for the Prize should be submitted by filling out the form in English or French and sending it before 15 February 2010 by normal mail or by email to:

Programme for Freedom of Expression, Democracy and Peace
1, rue Miollis
75732 Paris cedex 15

E-mail: s.coudray@unesco.org

If you have any queries contact Sylvie Coudray: s.coudray@unesco.org

More detailed info

Leave a Reply