QUAD Fellowship: Elevating the brightest minds in STEM for collective good

Deadline: 1 April 2024
Open to: Citizens of Quad: India, Japan, Australia, United States, and 10 ASEAN Countries Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, or Vietnam.
Benefits: Financial Benefits, Programmatic Benefits, Alumni Programming and Senior Fellows.


The Quad Fellowship is an initiative of the governments of Australia, India, Japan, and the United States. Announced by the Quad partners on September 24, 2021, this first-of-its-kind scholarship program is designed to build ties among the next generation of scientists and technologists. The Quad Fellowship is operated in consultation with a non-governmental task force composed of academic, foreign policy, and private sector leaders from each Quad country. Beginning in 2024, the fellowship will be administered by the Institute of International Education (IIE), a global not-for-profit organization that manages many of the world’s most prestigious scholarship and fellowship programs.

The Quad Fellowship sponsors exceptional master’s and doctoral students to study science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) in the United States. The fellowship supports students from the four Quad countries – Australia, India, Japan, and the United States and expands this year to include sponsorship of students from the ASEAN countries. The fellowship develops a network of science and technology experts committed to advancing innovation and collaboration in the private, public, and academic sectors, in their own nations and among Quad countries. The program builds foundational understanding among Quad Fellows of one another’s societies and cultures through programming and networking opportunities with each country’s top scientists, technologists, and politicians.


Applicants must:

  • Be at least 18 years of age at the time of application

  • Be citizens or legal permanent residents of one of the Quad countries – Australia, India, Japan, or the United States – or any of the 10 ASEAN countries – Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, or Vietnam

  • Have a bachelor’s degree or its equivalent in a STEM field by August 2024

  • Have a demonstrated record of superior academic achievement at the undergraduate level

  • Prospective Graduate students: Must have already applied to an eligible STEM graduate program at a US-based university to begin the 2024-2025 academic year

  • Current Graduate students at US universities: If applicants are currently enrolled in a Master’s or PhD program in the US, they must be enrolled full-time in an eligible STEM graduate program for the full 2024-2025 academic year.

  • Clinical healthcare degree programs such as doctorates of medicine or Masters of nursing are ineligible.


The Quad Fellowship offers a unique combination of financial benefits, cross-cultural exchange, networking, and programming.

  • Financial Benefit
    Each Quad Fellow will receive a one-time stipend of $40,000 to be used for academic expenses.

  • Programming
    During the Fellowship, Quad Fellows will have the opportunity to network and engage in programming with accomplished minds in STEM, government, and society.

  • Alumni Program for Senior Fellows
    Upon graduation from the Quad Fellowship program, Senior Fellows will join a growing alumni network dedicated to advancing innovation and research for positive social impact.

How to apply?

Apply here. For more information, please visit the official website.