Applications for 10th Anniversary Edition of the UN Global Climate Action Awards Now Open

Deadline: 30 April 2021
Open to: Initiatives that help achieve the temperature goals of the Paris Agreement
Benefits: Engagement with policy makers


Starting today, organizations, businesses, universities, governments and others taking bold leadership on climate change can nominate their work for a special 10th anniversary edition of the UN Global Climate Action Awards.

The annual award programme, run by United Nations Climate Change since 2011, recognizes the world’s most innovative, scalable and replicable examples of action to tackle climate change.

This year’s awards will showcase people and projects taking bold and effective climate action in the areas of climate neutrality, innovative climate finance and climate leadership.

The 2021 award winners will be celebrated at the UN Climate Change Conference (COP 26) in Glasgow, Scotland, in November – the most important climate conference since the Paris Agreement was adopted in 2015.

This year also marks the 10th anniversary of the award programme and its efforts to demonstrate that climate action is underway around the world.

A special new award category called ‘Climate Leaders’ has been added for 2021. It will recognize transformational and replicable government action and ambition at any level (national, regional, city, town, etc.), helping to strengthen the case for the increased climate action and ambition that is urgently needed to ensure the world can limit the increase in global average temperature rise this century to 1.5 degrees Celsius and to build resilience to climate change.


The UN Global Climate Action Awards shine a light on activities which aim to help achieve the temperature goals of the Paris Agreement. Organizations, communities, cities, businesses, universities, governments and others that are taking concrete action on climate change can apply to have their projects recognized by the UN Climate Change secretariat as a 2021 winning activity.

The 2021 UN Global Climate Action Awards will recognize climate action that is already achieving real and tangible results in three categories:

  • Climate Neutral Now: recognizing efforts by individuals, companies and governments that are achieving real results in transitioning to climate neutrality.
  • Financing for Climate Friendly Investment: recognizing successful financial innovations for adaptation and climate mitigation.
  • Climate Leaders: recognizing transformational efforts by governments at any level (national, provincial, state, city, town) that are moving the needle on climate change.


Award winners receive the following benefits package:

I. Engagement with policy makers

Recognition by the UN Climate Change secretariat;
Depending on global travel restrictions and the ongoing pandemic, award winners may receive funded attendance to UN Climate Change Conference (apart from winners under the Financing for Climate Friendly investment category, which need to be self-funded to attend the Conference);
Opportunities to present work to policy makers during the UN Climate Change Conference.

II. Public relations support

Concentrated media engagement effort prior to and during the UN Climate Change Conferences, including placement of opinion pieces and earned media;
On-going digital campaign, including social media, email marketing and promotion on UN Climate Change website. Marketing support Promotional videos; Dedicated webpage on the UN Climate Change website; Interactive annual reports; Professional photography.


For more information please visit the official website.