Free Press Awards

Deadline: 1 August 2020
Open to: journalists and media professionals
Benefits: EUR 15,000


Each year, Free Press Unlimited organises Free Press Live – Stand up for journalists and justice; an event dedicated to the protection of journalists. The Free Press Awards recognise journalists and media professionals who have a strong commitment with press freedom and independent information. They will honour journalists and media professionals who continue no matter what.

The Free Press Awards ceremony will be held during Free Press Live and winners in both categories receive an expenses-paid visit to the awards ceremony in November in The Hague, where the prices will be conferred in person.


Journalists who risk everything to bring us the news, media pioneers who pave the way for equality and justice and those who persevere under the most difficult circumstances.


Nominations for the awards will be judged by an independent panel of international experts. The winner in the category ‘Newcomer of the Year’ will receive a media scholarship by choice. The winner in the category ‘Most Resilient Journalist’ will receive a cash prize of EUR 15,000.

Read more about the categories Newcomer of the Year and Most Resilient Journalist.

How to Apply?

The deadline to nominate a journalist for the categories ‘Newcomer of the Year’ and ‘Most Resilient Journalist’ is August 1st 2020. Use one of the nomination forms below to nominate a journalist:

Nomination form for most Resilient Journalist.

Nomination form: Newcomer of the year

For more information and how to apply please visit the official link.