World Summit Awards 2019

Deadline: every country has their own deadlines for the call
Open to: applicants must under 26 years old and  be nominated by a WSA National Expert
Awards: winners benefit not from a one-time financial reward, but a lifelong partnership and integration


The World Summit Awards promotes and awards also young innovators, who developed a digital application tackling the UN SDGs. The WSA Young Innovators is a special recognition for young social entrepreneurs under 26 years of age, using ICTs to take action on the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals. The World Summit Award (WSA) looks for digital applications that have a strong impact on society in one of the 8 WSA categories:

GOVERNMENT & CITIZEN ENGAGEMENT – services | open data | democratic participation

HEALTH & WELL BEING – medical care | sport | lifestyle

LEARNING & EDUCATION – knowledge | science | skills

ENVIRONMENT & GREEN ENERGY – climate | sustainable resources | agriculture

CULTURE & TOURISM – heritage | entertainment | subcultures

SMART SETTLEMENTS & URBANIZATION – mobility |productive work | sustainable living

BUSINESS & COMMERCE – innovative services | security | finance | marketing

INCLUSION & EMPOWERMENT – diversity | gender | justice | human rights


Applicants must be nominated by the WSA National Expert. Any entrepreneur, company, student group or project team is eligible – at least one of the founding members and the majority of the team must be under the age of 26.


The World Summit Awards are a non-monetary award system with a focus on sustainable knowledge transfer through a worldwide network. This means that winners benefit not from a one-time financial reward, but a lifelong partnership and integration. More information on the non-monetary benefits on the following link:

How to apply?

Find out who your WSA National Expert. Then you can contact the WSA office and they will be happy to introduce you to your WSA National Expert. Once you have contacted your expert, they will go through the steps you will need to take in order to qualify for national selection with you.

For more information, please visit the official web page.