EU Prize for Cultural Heritage / Europa Nostra Awards

Deadline: 1 October 2016
Open to: architects, craftsmen, cultural heritage experts, volunteers, schools, local communities, heritage owners and the media
Award: Grand Prix winners receive EUR 10,000 each


The European Union Prize for Cultural Heritage was launched in 2002 by the European Commission as part of the implementation of the Culture Programme, which has now been succeeded by the Creative Europe Programme. Europa Nostra, the Voice of Cultural Heritage in Europe, was reappointed in 2014 to run this awards scheme on the basis of its long experience in publicly recognising individual or joint excellence in the field of cultural heritage at a European level.

The European Union Prize for Cultural Heritage / Europa Nostra Awards is granted annually to identify and promote best practices in the conservation of tangible and intangible cultural heritage, to stimulate the trans-frontier exchanges of knowledge and experience throughout Europe, to enhance public awareness and appreciation of Europe’s cultural heritage, and to encourage further excellent initiatives through the power of example.

Outstanding heritage achievements will be awarded in the following categories:

  • Conservation;
  • Research;
  • Dedicated service by individuals or organisations;
  • Education, training and awareness-raising.


Entries may be submitted from the countries that take part in the Creative Europe programme of the European Commission.

Countries eligible for the EU Prize:

Albania, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, FYROM, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Moldova, Montenegro, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Turkey and United Kingdom.

You can still apply for a Europa Nostra Award if your country is not on the list of eligible countries.

Countries eligible for the Europa Nostra Awards only:

Andorra, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, the Holy See, Kosovo, Liechtenstein, Monaco, the Russian Federation, San Marino, Switzerland and Ukraine.


In 2017, the Awards will be given to up to 30 remarkable heritage projects and initiatives in four categories. Up to seven will be selected as Grand Prix winners and receive EUR 10,000 each. One will get the Public Choice Award.

How to apply?

In order to apply please fill the applications:

EU prize – Conservation – Entry form

Europa Nostra Awards – Conservation – Entry form

For more information please read the official call.

Leave a Reply