Antall József Summer School in Budapest

Deadline: 1 May, 2015
Open to: MA, PhD students or young professionals with a university degree in the field of political and social sciences, who are between the age 18 – 35
Venue: Budapest, Hungary from 6 to 17 July, 2015


The Antall József Knowledge Centre (AJKC) came into being in the form of a foundation in cooperation with the Corvinus University of Budapest. In 2009, Mrs József Antall announced the establishment of the organisation during the opening ceremony of the József Antall Building in Brussels. The institution is named after Dr József Antall (1932–1993), the first freely elected Prime Minister of Hungary, who served from 1990 to 1993.

The Knowledge Centre is an organisation independent of parties, ideologies and current politics. Its primary objectives are to foster the Antall tradition and promote the spread of knowledge. With the aim of offering a more comprehensive picture of the Central European Region and the Visegrad Cooperation, the Knowledge Centre organises its third international Antall József Summer School between 6 and 17 July 2015 at the Antall József Knowledge Centre.

The program aims to provide young participants coming from the V4 countries, the Western Balkan, as well as the Eastern Partnership member states with a cross-border educational programme of high quality that enables them to know more about the most pivotal cooperation of Central Europe. During the twelve days of the event, participants can listen to and attend lectures and seminars in English, which puts under scrutiny the economic, political and cultural relations of the Cooperation, as well as the experiences connected to being an EU member state.

Beyond the transmission of knowledge, the aim of the organizers is to enhance intercultural dialogue. For this reason, they will organise various trips and programmes: Visegrád trip, Multicultural Evening, House of Terror Museum, V4 Game, Film Club, exhibitions, etc.

The Antall József Summer School 2015 will heavily focus on the relationship between the Visegrad Countries and the Western Balkan states. The year 2015 marks the 20th anniversary of the signing of the Dayton Peace Agreement, which put an end to the Balkan Wars.


The Knowledge Centre invites a maximum of 50 participants, who are between the age of 18-35. A scholarship can be offered for participants coming from the V4 countries, the member states of the Central European Initiative, as well as the EU’s Eastern Partnership. Furthermore, application is generally open for – MA, PhD – students and young professionals with a university degree in the field of political and social sciences.

Costs and Scholarship

The Knowledge Centre provides scholarships for participants applying from the following European countries: the V4 countries (the Czech Republic, Poland, Slovakia and Hungary), CEI member states (check HERE) and EaP countries (Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Moldova, Georgia or Ukraine) .

As part of the scholarship, the following expenses are covered for those coming from the above-mentioned countries:

  • participation fee;
  • travel – reimbursement upon arrival (please consider the most economic options);
  • accommodation (+breakfast);
  • lunch;
  • accompanying programmes.

The Summer School is generally open to everyone. Scholarships are also granted to students coming from non-eligible countries. However, their scholarship is different in a way that their costs of travel are not covered. Please note that scholarships are being granted automatically upon acceptance. You do not have to apply for them.

There is a registration fee of 80 EUR for all participants.

Application requirements

To apply successfully, you have to:

  • Provide a Proof of English Proficiency (Minimum Level: B2 / Language Certificate Required),
  • Fill in the Online Application Form available HERE
  • Submit a Letter of Recommendation of a Relevant Academic Teacher (with contact, signed and stamped),
  • Submit a Letter of Motivation (maximum one-page long) and a Curriculum Vitae.

Applications will be open in the period of  1 March 2015 to 1 May, 2015.

The official webpage

Leave a Reply