Award for Roma Integration in the Western Balkans and Turkey

Deadline: 6 August 2014
Open to: civil society organizations from Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Serbia, Macedonia, Turkey and Kosovo
Award:  7 civil organizations will receive award 14.000€ + 3-day study visit to the European Institutions


In support of Roma integration the European Commission has decided to launch a call to award prizes to civil society organisations dedicated to the integration of Roma communities. The European Commission will therefore for the first time in 2014 award several prizes to civil society initiatives and organizations in the Western Balkans and Turkey for innovative projects which have contributed to the social inclusion of Roma. One prize will  be awarded to the best project in each of the seven countries, which are seeking to change the lives of the Roma population on a daily basis. The Award aims to allow the winners to continue with their successful project activities.


Applications are welcomed from civil society organizations from Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Serbia, Macedonia, Turkey and Kosovo. All of them must have been implementing projects related to supporting equal access to rights for Roma communities at the local level for a minimum of 1 year. They must also prove that the initiative has been carried out for a minimum of 6 months prior to applying for the award and the project implementation cannot have been completed before 1 July 2013. Each applying organization is limited to submitting only one application.


The winning seven civil society organisations will receive an award of 14,000 euro each in order to continue with the project activities awarded under this contest. The winning initiatives together with the 14 shortlisted participants will be invited also to a 3-day study visit to the European Institutions.


A valid application consists of a filled in Application Form and a Declaration of Honour. The Application Form may be accompanied by supporting documents, such as pictures or short video clips (max. 5 min). The application shall be submitted via an electronic submission to – or in paper form to address:

European Commission, DG Enlargement
Award for Roma Integration’
Rue de la Loi 15
1049 Brussels, Belgium

The deadline for submission of applications is 6 August 2014 (18:00 Brussels time – CEST).

For further information, please visit the official website.

Leave a Reply