Commonwealth Doctoral Scholarship in Pretoria

Deadline: 18 August 2014
Open to: citizens of Commonwealth countries who are not be older than 35 years
Scholarship: ZAR 120,000 (approximately EUR 8,200)


The University of Pretoria has established a reputation for academic excellence, particularly in relation to some of its major research activities. It is a research intensive university that is seeking candidates for doctoral studies who will make significant contributions to its research endeavor.  As part of South Africa’s contribution to the Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship Plan, the University of Pretoria has made funds available for two doctoral scholarships. These scholarships will be for a maximum period of support of three academic years. This scholarship will be known as the “University of Pretoria Commonwealth Doctoral Scholarship” and will be awarded on a competitive basis.


The Commonwealth Doctoral Scholarship will be awarded to applicants who:

  • are citizens of Commonwealth countries (excluding South African students);
  • are not be older than 35 years of age at time of application;
  • willing to conduct their studies at the University of Pretoria, and
  • have completed the degree that will give them admission to a doctoral programme no more than three years prior to their application for this scholarship.

Please note that PhD and Masters students currently registered at the University of Pretoria are not eligible for the Doctoral Scholarship.

The Commonwealth eligible countries are in:

  • Africa: Botswana, Cameroon, Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Rwanda, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Swaziland, Uganda, United Republic of Tanzania and Zambia;
  • America: Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Canada, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Jamaica, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Vincent and the Grenadines and Trinidad & Tobago;
  • Asia: Bangladesh, Brunei, India, Malaysia, Maldives, Pakistan, Singapore and Sri Lanka;
  • Europe: Cyprus, Malta and United Kingdom; and
  • Pacific: Australia, Fiji, Kiribati, Nauru, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu and Vanuatu.


The value of the scholarship will be ZAR 120,000 (approximately EUR 8,200). This amount must be used to cover the accommodation and living costs, medical aid, and books/stationery. Additional costs covered by the University will be return flight ticket from home country, shuttle service on arrival in South Africa from or Tambo International Airport to Pretoria and return from Pretoria to or Tambo on completion, and application fee and Visa costs which will be refunded on proof of receipts on arrival.


The deadline for applications is 18 August 2014. In order to be considered for this scholarship, candidates must register in the electronic application site and submit the following documentation:

  • Agreement and motivation, from a suitable academic supervisor at the University, that the candidate can work under their supervision;
  • Outline of the research work that they wish to undertake;
  • Full academic transcripts of all qualifications obtained;
  • Curriculum Vitae;
  • Two certified passport copies.

Two letters of reference from academics or supervisors who have current knowledge of the applicant’s academic performance. Referees to send directly to

For further information, please visit the official website.

Leave a Reply