Outstanding Merits in Investigative Journalism Award

Deadline: 30 May 2014
Open to:  journalists from the CEI Member States.
Award: 4,000 euros for professional journalists and 1,000 euros for young  journalists.


Central European Initiative (CEI) and the South East Europe Media Organisation (SEEMO), in special partnership with the Konrad Adenauer Stiftung (KAS), have opened the Call for Applications 2014 of the CEI SEEMO Award for Outstanding Merits in Investigative Journalism.  The contest is divided into 2 categories: professional journalists and young professional journalists up to 30 years. The award honours the work carried out by investigative journalists and their contribution to investigative reporting despite the difficult working conditions journalists face when reporting.

Applications will be examined by an international jury of distinguished journalists and media experts from the region. The awarding ceremony will take place during the South East Media Forum (SEEMF) in Skopje, Macedonia, on 16-17 October 2014.


The call is open for journalists from the Central European Initiative member states: Albania, Austria, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Hungary, Italy, Macedonia, Moldova, Montenegro, Poland, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia and Ukraine. 

In the first category Professional Journalists, candidates should be active investigative reporters over the last two years, and still active as journalists. The jury will evaluate 2 pieces of journalistic work. As for the second category Young Professional Journalists, candidates should be actively involved in investigative reporting even in the context of training activities organized by schools/universities, and have published at least one investigative story meeting professional standards. The jury will evaluate 1 piece of journalistic work.


The award for Professional Journalists is 4.000 euros,  and the award for Young Journalists up to 30 years of age is 1.000 euros.


Interested applicants must submit a filled-in Application Form, Europass CV in EnglishSummary in English of the candidate’s work and merits during the two years prior to the deadline of this Call, including details of the media that published/broadcasted the reports (1-2 pages, PDF file), and the complete piece(s) of journalistic work to be submitted for the application (two in Category 1, one in Category 2).

In case of print media, a scan or PDF file of the original publication is required. In case of Radio and TV, both an audio/video file and a script or scenario should be sent (download links accepted). In case of Internet media, a PDF printout of the publication is required. Material prepared in local languages should be accompanied by a translation or significant synopsis in English. 

All documents should be send to:  press@cei.int.

Deadline for applications is Friday, 30 May 2014 (23.59 CEST).  

For a more detailed description of the Award, the Jury and the application criteria, please read the Official Journalism Award Call or check out the official webpage.

Further questions concerning the Call can be directed to: fabro@cei.int.

Leave a Reply