One World Media Awards for Journalists and Filmmakers

Deadline: 29 January 2014
Open to: international journalists and filmmakers who have a work about the social, political or cultural life in Africa, Asia, the Caribbean, Latin America, the Middle East, Russia or the Post-Soviet States
Award: plaque and promotion of the winning entries at the ceremony and website


One World Media is a non-profit organisation that supports international journalism and promotes media coverage of global issues. For over 25 years we have been working with partners in the UK and internationally to enable media that informs and connects the world’s people. One World Media’s mission is to support strong vibrant and independent media that empowers citizens, promotes justice and contributes to international development.

The annual One World Media Awards is one of the foremost awards events in the UK. It rewards the most outstanding coverage of the developing world and recognizes the unique role of journalists and filmmakers in increasing cultural understanding and promoting fairness and justice worldwide.

This year they have launched the Corruption Reporting Award sponsored by Transparency International and the Short Film Award for films up to 20 minutes in length alongside our long-standing  categories such as Press, Radio, Documentary and International Journalist of the Year. The 2014 awards ceremony will take place on 6 May at Kings Place in London.


All entries should be concerned with some aspect of social, political or cultural life in Africa, Asia, the Caribbean, Latin America, the Middle East, Russia or the Post-Soviet States.

All categories are open to entrants anywhere in the world, as long as the entry has been printed, broadcast or screened either in the UK or printed, broadcast or screened internationally for a global audience (ie. at an international film festival or in established print and online outlets). Please note that any entries not in English must be subtitled or dubbed.

All work submitted for the Awards must have been first published, broadcast or screened between 29 January 2013 and 29 January 2014.

Jurors will evaluate each entry based on the overall merit of the piece, with an emphasis on:

  • Engaging treatment of the issue(s).
  • Interpretation of the issue(s): ability to present complex topics to the target audience in an understandable and accessible way.
  • Substance of the coverage: depth of research, analysis and presentation of the information.
  • Inclusivity: the degree to which the coverage includes the voices and views of people in the developing world.
  • Originality and creativity of the coverage: highlights new stories/issues or takes fresh approaches to familiar topics and presents them in a unique way.
  • Impact of the coverage: the potential for the coverage to catalyze change.


The winners will receive a plaque and promotion at the ceremony and One World Media website.

The One World Media Awards span 13 categories, celebrating work from all media platforms and across a wide range of genres. Detailed information about categories HERE.


If you want to enter, you must follow these steps:

1. Submit your entries for the 2014 Awards online by filling out the entry form HERE.

2. Send six hard copies of each entry and six hard copies of a synopsis of each entry (up to 300 words) before the final closing date of Wednesday 29 January 2014. Click HERE for details on what you should submit. All materials must be sent to:

One World Media Awards
CAN Mezzanine
32-36 Loman Street
London SE1 0EH

3. Ensure your entry has been paid for by the final closing date of 29 January 2014. All payments should be made online via Paypal after submitting your entry form. The entry fees are £140 + VAT per entry. Freelancers only have to pay £40 + VAT per entry; and students £30 + VAT per entry.

Any questions should be directed to

For further information, please visit the official website HERE.

Leave a Reply