World Habitat Cash Prizes for Housing Projects

Deadline: 1 November 2013
Open to:  individual, organisation or government who has an innovative and practical solution to housing needs and problems from any country of the world
Prize: two awards of £10,000


The World Habitat Awards were established in 1985 by the Building and Social Housing Foundation as part of its contribution to the United Nations International Year of Shelter for the Homeless. Two awards are given annually to projects that provide practical and innovative solutions to current housing needs and problems.

Over the years, a large range of excellent habitat projects were identified. From the very beginning, the focus has been not only on the identification of good housing practices but also in the sharing of knowledge and experience to others who can transfer them in their own situations.

Housing projects & approaches are sought that:

  • demonstrate practical, innovative and sustainable solutions to current housing issues faced by countries all around the world
  • can be transferred or adapted for use as appropriate
  • are already being implemented or are completed i.e. not at design, planning or early stages of development
  • view the term habitat from a broad perspective and bring other benefits as well, such as energy or water saving, income generation, social inclusion, community and individual empowerment, health benefits, capacity building or education


  • Any individual, organisation or government who has an innovative and practical solution to housing needs and problems from any country of the world
  • More than one entry can be made by the same individual or organisation
  • Entries should relate to housing projects and processes that are either completed or in progress; those that are at design stage only or in the very early stages of development cannot be considered.
  • Previous entrants can re-submit in subsequent years providing that the project has been further developed in the intervening time period


As well as international recognition, awards of £10,000 will be made to each of the two winning projects. Trophies will also be presented to the winning projects, and travel and accommodation costs will be met for one representative of each winning project to attend the awards ceremony.


All entries are assessed and ten to twelve projects are shortlisted by an assessment committee. These shortlisted projects are then evaluated by an independent advisory group. Evaluation visits are made to some of the shortlisted projects before recommendations are put forward to a panel of external judges, including the Executive Director of the United Nations Human Settlements Programme (UN-HABITAT).

Submissions for the competition must be received by 1 November 2013. Apply online HERE.

For more information please visit the official website HERE.

Leave a Reply