EURIAS Fellowship Programme for International Researchers

Deadline: 5 July, 2013
Open to: promising young scholars as well as from leading senior researchers worldwide
Scholarship: a living allowance (in the range of € 26,000 for a junior fellow and € 38,000 for a senior fellow), accommodation (or a mobility allowance), a research budget, plus coverage of travel expenses


The European Institutes for Advanced Study (EURIAS) Fellowship Programme is an international researcher mobility programme offering 10-month residencies in one of the 16 participating Institutes: Berlin, Bologna, Brussels, Budapest, Cambridge, Delmenhorst, Freiburg, Helsinki, Jerusalem, Lyon, Marseille, Paris, Uppsala, Vienna, Wassenaar, Zürich. The Institutes for Advanced Study support the focused, self-directed work of outstanding researchers. The fellows benefit from the finest intellectual and research conditions and from the stimulating environment of a multi-disciplinary and international community of first-rate scholars. EURIAS Fellowships are mainly offered in the fields of the humanities and social sciences but may also be granted to scholars in life and exact sciences, provided that their proposed research project does not require laboratory facilities and that it interfaces with humanities and social sciences. The diversity of the 16 participating IAS offers a wide range of possible research contexts in Europe for worldwide scholars. Applicants may select up to three IAS outside their country of nationality or residence as possible host institutions.

Eligibility requirements

  1. At the time of the application, researchers must be in possession of a doctoral degree plus 2 years of full-time research experience after the degree. Exception is made for Law scholars who are eligible with a Master +6 years of full-time research experience after the degree. (PhD training is not considered in the calculation of experience).
  2. Researchers from all countries are eligible to the programme but applicants cannot apply to an institute located in their country of nationality or residence. Exception is made for applicants who have not spent more than 12 months in their country of nationality or residence during the last 3 years prior to the application.
  3. The programme is open to all disciplines in the fields of humanities and social sciences. It also welcomes applications from the arts, life and exact sciences. There is no age limit for applying to EURIAS Fellowship Programme. For more details in the eligibility requirements please direct HERE.


All IAS have agreed on common standards, including the provision of a living allowance (in the range of € 26,000 for a junior fellow and € 38,000 for a senior fellow), accommodation (or a mobility allowance), a research budget, plus coverage of travel expenses.

For the 2014-2015 academic year, EURIAS offers 39 fellowships (20 junior and 19 senior positions).

How to apply

Firstly you need to register HERE

EURIAS fellowship applicants have to submit (in English exclusively):

  • The completed EURIAS application form
  • A curriculum comprising a list of publications
  • Publications in a pdf format (2 for juniors, 5 for seniors)
  • A detailed research proposal (maximun 5 pages / 10,000 signs and a bibliography – maximum 1 additional page)
  • For candidates applying for junior fellowships, two letters of recommendation.


EURIAS Programme Officer:
Mrs Raquel Sanz Barrio
at the RFIEA Foundation

190 avenue de France
75013 Paris – FRANCE

For further details please also consider FAQ

The Official Website

Leave a Reply