Gates Award for Global Health for Organizations

Deadline: 29/10/2010
Open to:
any organization from any country in the world that has had a systemic and lasting impact on global health
Award: presented in Washington, D.C. at a special Awards Ceremony during the Global Health Council’s Annual International Conference

The Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation-established Gates Award for Global Health is seeking nominations “to reward and exemplify organizations which have developed processes for improving health, especially in resource poor settings with measurable results.”

Organizations such as NGOs, charities, nonprofits, private companies, government agencies, universities and multilateral organizations that have been in operation for a minimum of ten years can apply for the Award. Preference will be given to NGOs and nonprofits.

“Any organization from any country in the world that has had a systemic and lasting impact on global health may be nominated for the Gates Award; the organization may be a charitable institution, a private company or a public entity.

In submitting nominations for the Gates Award for Global Health, emphasis should be placed on an organization’s accomplishments to date. Applications should include a brief history of how the organization has made a sustained contribution in the field of global health. Nominators may wish to consider the following criteria in describing the Nominee’s work:

Extraordinary contributions toward progress in the knowledge and practice of health in low-income societies, with a substantial and sustainable impact on the principal issues that contribute to global health.

* An established record of achievement.
* Innovation in program design.
* Organizational capacity; i.e. evidence of financial and program stability.
* Collaboration with others.

Evidence that contributions have had significant influence or have been adopted across geographic and organizational boundaries.

Nominations will be considered by a Jury consisting of health professionals from developing countries as well as the Global Health Council’s Board of Directors. A winner will be selected by the Jury from the nominations submitted.

The deadline to submit nominations is 29 October 2010.

Background & Criteria

Online Nomination Form

Dawn Carey, Awards Program Coordinator
802.649.1340 ext. 2144

Leave a Reply