Journalism competition-WASH Media Awards

“Honouring the best in water supply, sanitation and hygiene journalism”.

Deadline: 01/04/2010

Water Supply and Sanitation Collaborative Council (WSSCC) and the Stockholm International Water Institute (SIWI) welcome entries for the third edition of the WASH Media Awards competition open to journalists who publish or broadcast original investigative reports between March 2009 and April 2010 on water supply, sanitation and hygiene (WASH) issues in their countries.
Journalists can submit one piece of work such as an article from traditional print or recognized online newspapers, magazines or journals; a radio broadcast; or a television documentary or report.

To be eligible, entries must be published or broadcast between 1 March 2009 and 1 April 2010.
Articles or broadcasts can be submitted in English, French, Spanish, Portuguese and Russian. Works not originally published or broadcast in one of these languages must be translated into one of the five competition languages.

Seven prizes will be awarded:
* One in each of the five competition languages for developing country journalists
* One for the best entry focusing on gender (women and WASH) for developing country journalists
* One for the best entry from a developed country journalist

The winners will receive a cash prize and participate in the World Water Week in Stockholm in August 2010 as special guests of WSSCC and SIWI.

Submissions should be sent to:

Water Supply & Sanitation Collaborative Council (WSSCC)
WASH Media Award
15, chemin Louis-Dunant
1202 Geneva, Switzerland

Email: (mention WASH Media Award in the email title)

If you have queries contact:
Ms. Tatiana Fedotova, Communications Officer WSSCC
Ms. Lovisa Selander, Communications Officer SIWI

Download the entry form

More info

2 thoughts on “Journalism competition-WASH Media Awards

Leave a Reply