The Michael Elliott Award for Excellence in African Storytelling

Deadline: 31 January 2024
Open to: English-speaking journalists working in Africa
Award: 5000 $ cash prize and other benefits


The International Center for Journalists (ICFJ), the ONE Campaign, and the Elliott family are happy to announce a call for entries for the Michael Elliott Award for Excellence in African Storytelling.

The award honors up-and-coming journalists in Africa who strive to strengthen people’s voices and illuminate the transformational change taking place on the continent.


  • The contest is open to English-speaking journalists working in Africa for print, broadcast, and online news media. Applicants must have no more than 10 years of journalism experience.
  • Applicants must submit one published piece that exemplifies Africa through thoughtful reporting and excellent storytelling. We are looking for impactful investigative or explanatory pieces, especially those illuminating transformational change in Africa.
  • A copy of the published story or broadcast clip must be submitted in English. Works in other languages must include English translations. We welcome submissions from print, broadcast, or digital journalists. Multimedia submissions may include web, audio, video, visual, or mixed media.
  • The submitted story must be published between December 1, 2022, and December 1, 2023.


The winners will receive a $5,000 cash prize and a personalized award certificate. The winners will have an extraordinary opportunity to spend two weeks at The Economist headquarters in London.

How to apply?

A distinguished international jury including media leaders from the US, UK, and Africa will select the winners. We will reach out to all applicants to notify them of their status by the spring of 2024.

The application form for the 2024 cycle is available here. The deadline for applications is January 31, 2024.

For more information please visit the official website.