Enlargement countries (Turkey, Serbia, Montenegro, Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Kosovo)

Montenegro signed the International Agreement to participate in COSME on <u>25 June 2014</u>. In order to enter into force, Montenegro has to notify the Commission that its internal legal requirements for its entry into force have been completed. This procedure is expected to be short in Montenegro's case.

The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia signed the agreement on 29 September 2014. In order to enter into force, FYROM has to notify the Commission that its internal legal requirements for its entry into force have been completed.

Following further discussions between the Commission and **Serbia**, the latter is expected to fully participate in COSME in 2015.

Turkey signed the agreement on <u>16 October 2014</u>. In order to enter into force, Turkey has to notify the Commission that its internal legal requirements for its entry into force have been completed.

Bosnia and Herzegovina has expressed an interest in joining COSME and the negotiations will start soon.

Albania is expected to sign the agreement before the end of 2014.

Kosovo does not have, for the time being, the legal basis allowing to participle in Union programmes and therefore cannot join the programme.

Eastern neighbourhood countries (Ukraine, Georgia, Armenia, Moldova, Azerbaijan, Belarus)

Moldova signed the agreement on <u>29 September 2014</u>, in order to participate in the COSME programme (except for the financial instruments). In order to enter into force, Moldova has to notify the Commission that its internal legal requirements for its entry into force have been completed.

Armenia has (informally) expressed interest in participating in the programme in 2015.

Ukraine is interested in joining COSME and negotiations are ongoing, but depend on the evolving political situation.

Other countries: no other candidates currently.

Southern neighbourhood countries (Algeria, Egypt, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Morocco, Palestine, Tunisia)

No formal expression of interest to join COSME has been received from any of the southern neighbourhood countries. Currently, only three countries could legally join COSME: Israel, Jordan and Morocco.

Algeria, Lebanon and Tunisia are in different phases of negotiating or approving the legal basis which would give them the possibility to apply to join European Union programmes, including COSME. It is possible that in 2015, some of these countries could express their interest in joining COSME.

EFTA countries

The Council Decision allowing for participation of **Iceland** in the COSME programme was adopted on <u>27 June 2014</u>. Iceland is therefore now fully participating in the programme.

Norway is not participating in COSME.

Liechtenstein will not participate.

Switzerland is unable to participate as there is currently no legal basis under which it could do so.

Other countries

At present, there is no legal basis for other countries to join the programme. However, COSME legal basis allows entities from other countries to participate in certain projects on a self-financing basis.
