TWAS-UNESCO Associateship Scheme 2021

Deadline: 1 December 2020
Open to: applicants from developing countries who hold a PhD or equivalent degree
Benefits: monthly contribution, covered travel expenses and accommodation and food by the host centre


TWAS-UNESCO Associateship Scheme 2021 for Developing Countries: The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS) invites applications from researchers from developing countries for the TWAS-UNESCO Associateship Scheme. The program aims to encourage competent scientist and researchers from developing countries excel in their field.

In collaboration with UNESCO and a number of centres of excellence in the South, TWAS has instituted a Joint Associateship Scheme to enable competent researchers from the South to visit these centres regularly. An associate is appointed for three years during which he/she can visit a Centre twice for research collaboration. Almost 300 centres have been selected to participate in the Scheme.


  • Applicants must hold a PhD or equivalent degree.
  • The selection of associates is highly competitive; appointments are made on the basis of merit.
  • Special consideration is given to scientists from isolated institutions in developing countries.
  • Women scientists are especially encouraged to apply.


  • The Associateship covers the associate’s travel expenses and a monthly contribution of USD 300 towards incidental local expenses.
  • The host centre covers accommodation and food, and provides the research facilities.

How to apply?

For more information and to apply, please visit the official website.