The European Charlemagne Youth Prize

Deadline: 28 January 2019
Open to: young people aged between 16 and 30 from any EU Member States
Prizes: first place EUR 7500, the second EUR 5000 and the third EUR 2500


Since 2008, the European Parliament together with the ‘Foundation of the International Charlemagne Prize of Aachen’ have each year been inviting young people from all EU Member States to submit projects run by and for youth showing an active participation in the development of Europe.

Projects can be submitted individually or, preferably, in groups. They should promote European and international understanding; foster the development of a shared sense of European identity and integration; and provide role models for young people living in Europe and offer practical examples of Europeans living together as one community.

Previous winners have been awarded for projects such as youth exchanges, events in the fields of sports, arts or culture or may take the form of online projects with a European dimension.


Applicants must be between 16 and 30 years old and must be citizens or residents of one of the 28 member states of the European Union.

Participants can apply, either individually or in groups; in the case of group and cross-border projects, the project can only be submitted in one country which is closely linked to the project.

Applications in all official languages of the European Union are eligible.
The projects submitted for the competition must have started and:
a) have finished between 1 January 2018 and 29 January 2019 or
b) be still running.

The projects will be assessed according to the following principles:

  • they must fulfill the objectives of the competition: promote European and international understanding; foster the development of a shared sense of European identity and offer practical examples of Europeans living together as one community
  • priority will be given to projects created jointly by young people representing several member states
  • attention will be given to projects carried out on a voluntary basis


The prize for the best project is EUR 7.500, the second, EUR 5000 and the third, EUR 2500.

One representative of each of the 28 national winning projects will be invited to the award ceremony on 28 May 2019 and a stay of several days in Aachen, Germany.

The prizes for the best three projects will be presented by the President of the European Parliament and representatives of the Foundation of the International Charlemagne Prize of Aachen.

As part of the prize, the laureates will be invited to visit the European Parliament (in Brussels or in Strasbourg).


In order to apply, please click here.

For further information please visit the official website.