Apply for The Data Journalism Awards

Deadline: 10 April 2016
Open to: media companies, nonprofit organizations, freelancers and staff journalists
Prize: EUR 1,000 for each category


The Data Journalism Awards are the first international awards recognising outstanding work in the field of data journalism worldwide. Launched in 2012, it is organised by the Global Editors Network, with support from the Google News Lab and the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation.  The award ceremony will take place in Vienna on 16 June 2016 during the Global Editors Network Summit, an annual event hosting 500 editors-in-chief worldwide.

Full list of categories for the DJA 2016 competition:

  1. Data Visualisation of the Year (Large Newsroom);
  2. Data Visualisation of the Year (Small Newsroom);
  3. Investigation of the Year (Large Newsroom);
  4. Investigation of the Year (Small Newsroom);
  5. News Data App of the Year (Large Newsroom);
  6. News Data App of the Year (Small Newsroom);
  7. Data Journalism Website of the Year;
  8. Best Individual Portfolio;
  9. Open Data;
  10. Best Use of Data in a Breaking News Story (within first 36 hours);
  11. General Excellence Award (Jury’s Choice);
  12. Public Choice Award.

Detailed information about categories you can find HERE.


The Data Journalism Awards rewards outstanding work in the field of data journalism in any media worldwide. They reward examples of data-driven investigations, data-driven applications and storytelling with data visualisation, which cover matters relevant to society and aim to have an impact at a societal level.

  • Media companies, non-profit organisations and freelancers or individuals are all eligible for the Data Journalism Awards;
  • Works produced by individuals or teams of staffers from media companies and non-profit organisations, as well as freelancers or individuals are all eligible for entry;
  • Works that are the result of a collaboration between organisations may also be submitted;
  • Those works produced by staffers or freelancers collaborating with government agencies, business or trade organisations with a stake (financial or of other nature) in the issue at hand are not eligible;
  • Works that include significant input from the members of the jury will not be accepted for entry into the competition.

The DJA administrators have the final authority to determine whether an entry is eligible or not.


In each category the winner will receive EUR 1,000.

How to apply?

You can submit your project via the GEN Community platform.

Submissions must have been published or aired between April 10, 2015 and April 4, 2016 and must be in English. Entries in languages other than English must be accompanied by a translation of the work.

Please provide as much information as you can about your project. Include anything that you feel is relevant and can help our jury with their decision.

Deadline for applying is 10 April 2016.

For more information please visit the official website.

Leave a Reply