Win the EU Prize for Women Innovators

Deadline: 20 October 2015
Open to: woman founder or co-founder of an existing and active company from EU Member State or in a country associated to Horizon 2020
Prize: first place EUR 100,000, second place EUR 50,000, third place EUR 30,000


The European Commission has launched the 3rd edition of the EU Prize for Women Innovators. It will reward three women who have achieved outstanding innovations and brought them to market. Although women are more and more active in research, there are still too few women creating innovative enterprises. The EU Prize for Women Innovators was launched to give public recognition to outstanding women entrepreneurs and to inspire other women to follow in their footsteps.


Every woman innovator complying with the following criteria:

  1. You are residing in an EU Member State or in a country associated to Horizon 2020, the EU’s research and innovation programme;
  2. You are the founder or co-founder of an existing and active company;
  3. Your company has been registered before 1 January 2013;
  4. The annual turnover of the company was minimum EUR 100,000 in 2013 or 2014;
  5. Either you or the company you founded/co-founded have received or is receiving funding from the EU’s research framework programmes, the EURATOM Framework Programme, the Competitiveness and Innovation framework programme (CIP) or actions relating to research and innovation under the European Structural and Investment Funds (known as the Structural Funds prior to 2014).

More information about contest rules you can find HERE.


  • First place- EUR 100,000;
  • Second place- EUR 50,000;
  • Third place- EUR 30,000.

How to apply?

First read the application guideline. Apply online before 20 October 2015, 12:00 am (Brussels time) via the contest website. An independent panel of judges from business and academia will examine and select the winners who will be announced in Spring 2016.

If you have any questions send e-mail at

For more information check the official call or visit the official website.

Leave a Reply