Sanlam Awards for Excellence in Financial Journalism

Deadline:  14 February 2014
Open to: any writer, broadcaster or journalist no matter their background
Awards: range from approx. EUR 1,000 to EUR 2,000


The Sanlam Awards for Excellence in Financial Journalism have been recognizing and rewarding exceptional business journalism since 1974. The awards are the premier financial journalism awards in South Africa.

They have continued our commitment to the initiative by revamping the 2013 awards to bring them in line with media changes and ensure their ongoing relevance. The most significant change is the introduction of two new core categories: platform neutral and platform specific awards. Platform neutral awards celebrate content generated on a range of subjects independent of the platform the work was produced for. Platform specific awards recognize the deep skills needed for each platform.

A special award in 2013, the ‘African Growth Story’, will honor the journalist who best captures the growth story of the African continent. This marks the first time the awards have been opened to journalists outside of South Africa.

An independent panel of judges – which includes media experts, an academic and an economist – will judge according to the following revised criteria: news value, impact, rigor in reporting, analytical value, originality, integrity, specialist knowledge and storytelling.

The full list of awards is:

  • Category 1 – Platform neutral category: Business/companies, Economy, Financial markets, Consumer financial education and African Growth story;
  • Category 2 – Platform specific awards: Radio financial journalist of the year, TV financial journalist of the year, Print financial journalist of the year, Online financial journalist of the year and Multi-media financial journalist of the year;
  • Category 3 – Special Awards: Best Newcomer, Lifetime achievement and Journalist of the year.


Any writer or broadcaster may enter a submission on a subject related to business, companies, the economy, financial markets or consumer financial education. Individual journalists can submit a maximum of one entry per award.

With the exception of the African Growth Story award, only stories published or broadcast in South Africa in the 2013 calendar year are eligible.

In terms of the African Growth Story award, any journalist working for a media vehicle (print, online, TV or radio) which is produced and distributed on the African continent is eligible. This includes South African reporters.


The winner of each category receives a prize of ZAR 20,000 (approx. EUR 1,300) while the overall winner receives an additional ZAR 30,000 (approx. EUR 2,000), and the best newcomer merit award amounts to ZAR15,000 (approx. EUR 1,000).


Application deadline is 14 February 2014.

Apply online by clicking here to access to the entry form. Each entry must have its own entry form and must be submitted separately. The same submission may be entered a maximum of two times, once in a platform neutral category and once in a platform specific category.

Stories originally published in a language other than English must be submitted in one of the formats: translated into English; with English subtitles; or with an English script or transcript. Unpublished material will not be accepted.

For further information please visit the official website.

Leave a Reply