Erasmus Mundus MA in Advanced Clay Science

Deadline: 31 January 2014
Open to: individuals with first higher education degree or demonstrate a recognized equivalent level of learning
Scholarships: EUR 48,000 (category A); EUR 23,000 (category B)


Clay minerals are abundant in the Earth’s surface and have played an important role to the development of human civilization. They originate from the interaction between lithosphere with atmosphere, hydrosphere and biosphere. They form out of different parent rocks under variable conditions and display significant variability in chemical composition, structure and properties.
They also undergo spontaneous modification as environmental conditions change, including anthropogenic effects. Interest in clays results from their common availability, and their unique physical and chemical properties. No other minerals currently attract so great an interest.

The IMACS (International Master in Advanced Clay Science) programme was approved by the European Commission under a very competitive application scheme as an Erasmus Mundus Joint Master programme in July 2009. Erasmus Mundus is a cooperation and mobility programme in the field of higher education supported by the European Commission. This programme offers financial support for high-quality joint master courses and attractive scholarships for both non European and European student candidates.

IMACS is an integrated two-year master programme delivered by five universities: the University of Poitiers (France), the Technical University of Crete (Chania, Greece), the University of Aveiro (Portugal), the University of Ottawa (Canada) and the Federal University of Rio Grande Do Sul (Porto Alegre, Brazil), and is supported by the French Clay Group (GFA) and AIPEA (International Association for the Study of Clay Minerals) which are associated members of IMACS.

The teaching language is English.


Scholarship candidates must have already obtained a first higher education degree or demonstrate a recognized equivalent level of learning according to national legislation and practices.

Individuals who have already benefited from an EMMC scholarship are not eligible for a second scholarship in order to follow the same or another EMMC. Students benefiting from an EMMC scholarship cannot benefit from another Community grant while pursuing their Erasmus Mundus master studies.


In order to make the programme more attractive for Third-Country nationals, the amount of the full study scholarship will be higher for Third-Country master students (Category A scholarships) than for European master students (Category B scholarships).

Category A scholarships are EUR 48,000 (for two-year course) and they can be awarded to third-country master students selected by EMMC consortia who come from a country other than a European country and who are not residents nor have carried out their main activity (studies, training or work) for more than a total of 12 months over the last five years in these countries (general window). “European Countries” include the EU Member States, and EFTA countries (Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway).

Special windows (in addition to general window):

1. Turkey and the Western Balkan countries (Albania, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Kosovo, Macedonia, Montenegro and Serbia);
2. ENPI South region (Algeria, Egypt, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Occupied Palestinian Territory, Syria and Tunisia);
3. ENPI East region (Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine).

Category B scholarships are up to EUR 23,000 (for two-year course) and they can be awarded to European master students selected by EMMC consortia as well as to any master students selected by EMMC consortia who do not fulfill the Category A criteria defined above.


The deadline for students applying for an Erasmus Mundus scholarship is 31 January 2014.

The application is an online procedure. However, the originals of academic documents, hard copy of letters and application report have to be sent by post mail before the deadline. The address for postal submission is:

EMMC-IMACS International Master Advanced Clay Science (Application)
Faculté de Sciences Fondamentales & Appliquées – Service scolarité
Université de Poitiers, Bât. B8, 5 rue Albert Turpain

The online process saves automatically your data on our website and you have the possibility to update and correct them until the official deadline. You need to be registered HERE for a full access to the application process and for updating your data.

If any questions, please direct them to

For further information visit the official website HERE.

Leave a Reply